Sleep & Weight Gain

I always thought my body craved more food when the seasons move from Summer into Autumn.  Like a bear getting ready for hibernation.

But I recently read an article from the Huffington Post on how sleep and eating patterns are related.

Apparently, when I don’t get enough sleep it  is linked with feeling hungrier and having higher blood levels of ghrelin (also known as the hunger hormone).

And on those occasions, which are many, when I work late – writing blogs,  or catching up on emails from the day, and then sleep later than usual, to get the required 7 to 9 hours of sleep will cause me to weigh more and eat more during the evening, compared with people who go to bed early.

I guess that means that I should head to bed after finishing this post.  But I also believe that one needs to have a sleep environment that allows for better deeper sleep.   A room that is at the right temperature, no noise or light pollution to disrupt your sleep, and then the right bedding on top of the mattress, from the pad, to the comforter, and everything in between.

What do you need to do, to start getting better sleep at night, and lose those extra pounds?

Give us your ideas by commenting below.

Leave a Reply

