Sleep Well, a New Year’s Resolution

Happy New Year!  Now is the time so many of us make New Year’s resolutions,

  • Eat Better
  • Quit Bad Habits
  • Get more excercise
  • Better Fit for the new year

Let’s take that last one.  Better fit is not only all of the other items on the list, but could also mean, better sleep.

While driving home from a few days in the Mountains with my better half, I heard an ad regarding buying new mattress to get better sleep.

That’s all well and good, but the bed I just spent the last couple of nights on was one of the highly advertised mattresses.  Don’t get me wrong it is a very comfortable mattress, but I find that if I do not have a right sheets on this mattress, my sleep ends up not so good.

What I am talking about is, when I use the sheets (poly/cotton blend) the landlord provides for the bed, I end up being either too hot or cold and toss all night.  However, if I use the sheets I purchased for this bed, I end up comfortable all night.  Waking up refreshed.

I don’t know about you, but I like watching my doggie sleep no matter the circumstances.

P1090426

And that’s what I get when I use the right sheets to sleep on.  Here is my ranking on the sheets and what is best to use from top (being the worse) to bottom (being the best).

  1. Cotton/Polyester Blend (doesn’t breathe well)
  2. Cotton Sateen (does breathe better, but takes time to wick away moisture)
  3. Cotton Percale (breathes well, and wicks away better than sateen)
  4. Micro Fiber (man-made fiber, that breathes well, and wicks away moisture)
  5. Bamboo (breathes well, and wicks away moisture, plus highly sustainable)

What are you sleeping on?  Is it the mattress that needs to be replaced or just the sheets?

Again, Happy New Year, and good luck on your resolutions.

Leave a Reply

